© SIC & artists 2021

Opening hours:
Thu– Fri: 2 – 6 pm
Sat – Sun: 12 – 4 pm







Mark Dean
John Lawrence
Jaakko Pallasvuo &
Hannah Perry
29.11.2013 – 22.12.2013

For the exhibition Nothing Compares 2 U SIC brings together four artists working with moving image and who use appropriation both in terms of found footage and within the familiar modes of presentation employed.

Underlying the works included here is a sense of striving for a form of direct communication, by the subjects within the video works and in the intention of the artworks themselves. Questions around what it means to be sincere, in art and in general, are present and are addressed further in a text by Morgan Quaintance which accompanies the show.

Nothing Compares 2 U: Notes on Sincerity by Morgan Quaintance


From left: Mark Dean: Nothing Compares 2 U (Bas Jan Ader Mirrors Joan of Arc), 2012
Video and sound, infinite loop (9 minute cycle)

Hannah Perry: Kicking My Game, 2013

Jaakko Pallasvuo: Screen Test, 2011
HD Video, 4:57

John Lawrence: Fuxing TV Writers, 2013

Also presented in the exhibition a sound work by Mark Dean. The Men Who Fell to Earth, 2010, Sound (dual mono), asynchronous loops

The exhibition has been kindly supported by: